24h of Spa

The Total 24 Hours of Spa is an endurance racing event for cars held annually in Belgium since 1923 at the Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps.
It is currently sponsored by Total S.A..

The Spa 24 Hours was conceived by Jules de Their and Henri Langlois Van Ophem just one year after the inaugural 24 Hours of Le Mans
was run. It debuted in 1924 over a 15 kilometres (9.3 mi) circuit on public roads between the towns of Francorchamps,
Malmedy and Stavelot, under the auspices of the Royal Automobile Club Belgium (RACB).
The present 7.004 kilometres (4.352 mi) circuit was inaugurated in 1979. The Spa 24 Hours was part of the European Touring Car
Championship from 1966 to 1973, again in 1976 and from 1982 to 1988 (with the exception of 1987 when it was part of the inaugural World Touring Car Championship). The event also counted towards the World Sportscar Championship in 1953 and the World Endurance
Championship in 1981. As on the Nürburgring, both a 24h and a 1000 km race is held at Spa, as the 1000 km Spa for sports car racing
were introduced in 1966. Cars entered have spanned from the Russian Moskvitch and models with sub-1 liter engines such as the NSU Prinz TT
to the luxurious V8-powered Mercedes-Benz 300 SEL 6.3. Tuned by Mercedes-AMG, the 6834 cc and 420 hp (313 kW) so-called "Red pig"
finished as high as second in 1971.
With the participation of Swiss Lilian Bryner on the victorious Ferrari 550 of the BMS Scuderia Italia team, the 2004 race marked the
first time in history that a female driver was part of the winning team of a 24-hour endurance race in a Gran Turismo with more
than 500 hp (370 kW).
The best manufacturer wins the Coupe du Roi (King's Cup), which is not necessarily the race winners.
The cup is won by the manufacturer with the most points, accrued by cars that are made by the same manufacturer.
For example, Australian car manufacturer Holden won the Coupe du Roi in 1986 despite their cars finishing the race in 18th,
22nd and 23rd positions outright.


Over the years a variaty of classes has passed this event, currently they have 3 classes, PRO, PRO-AM and AM Cup.



And here you will find models from the overall winners from every year I visited the 24 hours of Spa

Spa Winners

Also here the grid is filled with beautyfull women!



Home | Porsche | Lamborghini | Corvette | Le Mans | 24h of Spa | Drivers | Teams | Side Roads

This site was last updated 07/10/16

Return to the top